Skip to toolbar
November 26, 2020

Who is Better: Duncan or Olajuwon?

The two are the best players back on their prime. Hakeem Olajuwon a first pick overall in 1984 of the Houston Rockets. He was considered the best defensive player. As his resume speaks tor it, 2-time Defensive Player of the year and nine-time All-Defensive team.

While Tim Duncan was also a defensive wizard but he never wins the Defensive Player of the Year. Duncan isn’t athletic but used his skills to lead his team on defense.

Olajuwon win on his tenth year in the league compares to Duncan in just his second year. The Dream played in an era of Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, and Charles Barkley. He lost to the finals in his second year. With him, as the main man, they went to playoffs seven straight. The four of it was a consecutive first-round exit.

Hakeem Olajuwon’s best record with Houston was 58 wins in 1994. On his career, he missed the playoffs four times.

While Tim Duncan never missed the playoffs on his 19 years in the league. He helps reach the San Antonio 50+ wins in 18 seasons. Duncan named three times as a finals MVP.

Tim Duncan averaged double-doubles 13 times on his career and 10 straight years form 1999-2008. His best on his first MVP in 2002 where he scored 27.6 points and 4.3 blocks. Duncan closed out the game six of 2003 NBA Finals with 2 blocks shy of quadruple double.

Hakeem Olajuwon also had 12 double-doubles average in 15 playoffs appearance. With a whopping 37 points in 1988 playoffs but a first-round exit. On his championship team, he is scoring 29 & 33.

With Olajuwon, they never figure out how to win in the West after 10 years and win the title after Michael Jordan’s first retirement. They even teamed up with Charles Barkley and Scottie Pippen in 1999 but a loss to Lakers in the first round.

While Duncan still dominant in the finals at age 37 and 38. Winning the last one in 2014 as a force on the defensive end. A hero to closed the West finals against Oklahoma City Thunder in-game six. He overcomes the Lakers dynasty with an aging David Robinson, the rookie Ginobili and young Tony Parker. Beat the adversity over Detroit Pistons. Winning in the West six times while facing Kevin Garnett, Dirk Nowitzki and Kobe.

Hits: 109

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.