Skip to toolbar
October 25, 2020

Top Five Point Guards in Alaska Franchise

Alaska Aces or Alaska Milk was a historic franchise that won 14 championships in the PBA. Dubbed as a team of the nineties for winning an elusive GrandSlam in 1996. With that run, the team had a great point guard, until now they had point guards who help the team to stay relevant.

Let’s breakdown the top five point guards in Alaska history.

5. Chris Banchero

The Fil Italian was a steal for the Aces as he is still available at a number five in PBA draft in 2015. Chris Banchero is a current point guard and the best player in the team.The management trying to build around him to win another trophy for the team. He helps Alaska reached the finals five times but fell short.

4. Jayvee Casio

He was underrated on his team as he’s silently helping the Aces win in 2012. That was the last time Alaska win and with a great run. Jayvee Casio had a great series against the defending champion PureFoods on that run in semifinals. Casio is a lethal shooter and slasher early on in his career.

3. LA Tenorio

The General win a Finals MVP on his lone championship with Alaska. They beat the talented San Miguel Beer in six games at Fiesta Conference in 2010. Tenorio helps Alaska to reach in the finals but also fell short. A two time All-Star for Alaska and First Mythical team member in 2011.

2. Mike Cortez

The Cool Cat who drafted by Alaska first pick overall in 2003 was having a full of highlights. He gives the team hopes on his rookie year. Mike Cortez was a perfect fit for Tim Cone triangle offense as a pass-first point guard. He helps Alaska to win the Invitational Cup in 2003 defeating the talented Coca Cola Tigers. In 2006 they the finals against PureFoods after leading 2-0 in the series. Another final in 2007 that a close win over the Talk n Text Phone Pals. Cortez was a member of the 2006 Second Mythical team.

  1. Johnny Abarrientos

The Flying A, the most successful point guard in history. Win 1996 MVP and they achieved the grand slam also that year. A nine-time champion for the team. With Best Player Conference award in 1997, the first mythical team from 1994-99. Johnny Abarrientos was a two-time Finals MVP with Alaska. An All-Star seven times representing the team. Johnny A was a legend by Alaska who considers as the PBA’s greatest player.

Hits: 239

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.